Another Week


Another week gone by, and I found myself meal Prepping again. I know, I know, just like every other fitness guru or vegan YouTube or Instagram account out there. But let me tell you: IT WORKS.

I was so skeptical at first, but taking the time to plan out what I’m okay with eating everyday for lunch, and then making it happen for the whole week, has really really worked for me. Last week, I goofed and only made four meals for myself, which meant on Wednesday, my lunch was soda and French fries. Not my finest moment, but it happened.  So this week, I made sure to make enough for five days.

I also found that Prepping breakfasts helped me so much last week. I am a horrible breakfast eater, but I need to eat in order to take my vitamins. So, last week, every morning, I would grab 2 muffins and water and a coffee or tea and go to work. Not only were they already made for me, but they were delicious. And I didn’t tire of eating them. They Jumpstart Ed my metabolism, and I was actually starving by the time lunch rolled around. I also found that I made way way too much food for myself. Every day, I was unable to finish what I had made.

So this week, I prepped for myself, Ella and Ty. For Ella, I  prepped five mornings of oatmeal for her. (I also forgot last week to post the links to alreadyroundndlso my recipes, so instead, I will give them to you here and now.) For the oatmeal, I put 1/3 cup oats, 1/3 vanilla almond milk, 1/3 cup mixed frozen berries (unsweeted) and 1 tsp agave into five Mason jars and put them in the fridge. If Ella wants her oats hot, I can quickly heat them in a pot (our microwave is broken, and has been for almost a month now) and if she wants them cold, she gets to eat it right out of the jar.

Ty is an omnivore, so he cooked his own chicken, but I prepped everything else. I made brown rice (2 cups rice, 4 cups water), sautéed okra, raw spinach, and 1/2 an avocado for 5 days worth of lunches. Ty just placed his chicken in each bin and he was set (he likes very bland food).

For myself, I actually made my life much easier by using some of the food I had prepped from last week. So my breakfasts included: 3 grapefruits, and 3 smoothie bags. In my smoothie bags, I placed 1 tbsp hemp hearts, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/2 an avocado, 1/2 cup raw spinach, 1/3 cup mixed berries, 2 tbsp organic vegan protien powder  (from bulk barn), and 2 dates. I can just throw everything into my magic bullet and add almond milk or OJ and blend it up.

My lunches are 1 or 2 vegan meatballs, 1/3 baked potato, and about 1/2 a cup of sautéed brussels sprouts and red onions with veggie gravy. I plan on making muffins tomorrow for an afternoon sweet treat, which is why my meals are a little smaller. (Tomorrow muffins will be vegan Matcha banana chocolate chip muffins).

So, I think that is all for now. I also will be boiling some beans for chili later in the week and making the muffins tomorrow, my night was very full of children, so I opted to do those tomorrow. Now, off for a bath and bed. I will talk to you all later.

Cheers

Caitlynne

Leave a Reply

